Final Notes and Resources

I am valuable, and that worth comes from inside of me.
I am worthy and grateful for the life I have.
I will not always feel happy, but I can always experience joy.
Enjoy the vibrancy of life.

Who I am is not what I do. I always have worth even when I stumble.

As I work through my emotions and came to a place I was happy with, I discovered again the ability to be playful and laugh. No longer bogged down by negative emotions, life has a sense of lightness. And to not be bored, I discovered that rather than filling life up with tasks, I could fill it up with play. To laugh, dance, listen to music, read books, and play games. Wondering at the world around me, asking questions and discovering the answers. I find hobbies and work that I want to do, not just have to do. Life becomes less of a battle and more of a joyful experience.

I got an app to start tracking my days. I rank every day: Awesome, Good, Mediocre, Bad, Awful.

I basically never have awful days—awful days means suicidal thoughts and possible self-harm and worst day of my life sort of things. Awful would be going to jail or getting in a car crash or whatever.

Awesome days are actually much more common than awful days. Awesome days are normal days when something a little extra special makes me just that little bit happier.

Normal days are good days. Because they should be. And they are.

Mediocre days and bad days happen—I get moody and make mistakes.

But the majority of my days are good. Tracking it for months and months have made me realize that. Even when I think I’m having a hard time, usually it’s just a few hard moments. Life is usually a lot better than we think. Because normal isn’t mediocore—normal is good.

Helping Others

This book primarily focuses on emotions within myself, but we associate with people all the time who could also use help with much of what is talked about in that book. This method is from I Hate You, Don’t Leave Me, and can be very powerful in associating with other people.

It is founded on the acronym SET UP:

Support: I care about you, I will support you.
Empathy: I see and understand how you feel.
Truth: Statements of the hard, undeniable truth.

  • Get Out of Your Mind and Into Your Life: The New Acceptance and Commitment Therapy by Steven C. Hayes
  • Daring Greatly by Brené Brown
  • Emotion Code by Bradley Nelson
  • Feelings Buried Alive Never Die by Karol Kuhn Truman
  • I Hate You – Don’t Leave Me: Understanding the Borderline Personality by Hal Straus and Jerold Jay Kreisman
  • Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle
  • Coping with BPD: DBT and CBT Skills to Soothe the Symptoms of Borderline Personality Disorder by Blaise Aguirre MD, Gillian Galen PsyD
  • Momfulness: Mothering with Mindfulness, Compassion, and Grace by Denise Roy
  • Feeling Good: The New Mood Therapy by David D. Burns

Back to Healing my Heart and Finding Joy main page